Workshop on Batched, Reproducible, and Reduced Precision BLAS

Innovative Computing Laboratory

University of Tennessee

May 18th – 19th, 2016

http://bit.ly/Batch-BLAS-2016

last updated: 5/17/16 9:13 AM

 

This workshop will touch on extending the Basic Linear Algebra Software Library (BLAS). The existing BLAS have proven to be very effective in assisting portable, efficient software for sequential and some of the current class of high-performance computers. We would like to investigate the possibility of extending the currently accepted standards to provide greater parallelism for small size operations, reproducibility, and reduced precision support. This is the beginning of a forum to discuss and formalize details related to batched, reproducible, and reduced precision BLAS. 

The purpose of the workshop is to look into defining a standard interface for the Batched BLAS, Reproducible BLAS, and Reduced Precision BLAS. While these are separate issues we will have presentations and discussions on the need and issues related to these topics.

 Click here for a picture of the workshop attendees.

Workshop Format:

We will start the workshop at 9:00 am on Wednesday, May 18th and plan to finish around 4:00 pm on Thursday, May 19th. The structure will be for the vendors to describe what they have in terms of hardware and mathematical software for their HPC systems, various reports from hardware and software vendors and developers on what they need in terms of numerical linear algebra software for today’s and future systems. The authors of the Batched, Reproducible, and Reduced Precision BLAS will present the current proposal and various implements (reference and more specific ones). We will have discussion on various aspects of the plans.


 

 

Workshop Location:

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

1122 Volunteer Blvd.

Claxton Building, Room 205-206

Map and directions to Claxton Building

http://icl.utk.edu/directions/ICL-directions.pdf

(You should be able to walk from the Hotel to the Claxton building. The distance is about 1 mile.)

 

There is also a free trolley to campus.  Take the Orange Line from the corner of Locust and Clinch (same block as Hilton Hotel) to the Hodges Library stop. Claxton is the building with a courtyard; enter through the large glass doors next to the courtyard, and take the first left in the building.

Orange Line runs Mon-Fri 7am-8pm (everyday: every 15 mins)

 

Hotel Information:

Hilton Knoxville (Downtown)

501 W. Church Avenue

Knoxville, TN 37902

Ph: (865) 523-2300

(From the airport the easiest way to the Hilton is by taxi.)

 

Taxi Info:

Paradise: 865-691-1900 or 865-406-9105

Nation: 865-317-0788

United: 865-437-7375

Fare is ~$22 from campus to airport.

 


 

 

Draft Agenda:

Tuesday



May 17th



6:00 PM -8:00 PM

Reception at the Hilton Sponsored by Intel





Wednesday



May 18th

Claxton Room 205-206


8:00 AM

Breakfast available

Room 205

9:00 AM

Welcome& Introduction of Participants

Jack Dongarra, UTK

9:30

Overview of the Draft for the Batch BLAS & Discussion

Stan Tomov, UTK

10:00

Reference Implementation and Testing of Batched BLAS Routines

Mawussi Zounon, U of Manchester

10:30

Example of Cholesky’s Efficient Implementations

Jakub Kurzak, UTK

11:00

Break

Room 205

11:30

Batched Computations: Approaches and Applications

Azzam Haidar, UTK

12:00

Variable Size Batch BLAS

Ahmad Ahmad, UTK

12:20

Batched BLAS in Preconditioning

Hartwig Anzt, UTK

12:40

Lunch provided

Room 233

1:20

Sparse Interleaving for Batched

Jonathan Hogg, Rutherford

1:40

Bench-testing Environment for Automated Software Tuning (BEAST)

Piotr Luszczek, UTK

2:10

Deeper-Dive on the GEMM_BATCH Functionality in Intel MKL

Sarah Knepper, Intel

2:40

Reproducible BLAS & Discussion

Jim Demmel, UCB

3:40

Break

Room 205

4:00

Reproducibility

Bill Gropp, UIUC

4:30

Reproducibility; Independent Replication

Mike Heroux, Sandia Labs

5:00

BLAS Interface for Different Precisions

Jack Dongarra, UTK

6:00

Dinner at The Square Room, 4 Market Square, Knoxville, TN

(You should be able to walk from the hotel to the restaurant. The distance is about 0.3 miles)

Sponsored by Intel


 




Thursday



May 19th

Claxton Room 205-206


8:00 AM

Breakfast available

Room 205

9:00 AM

The H2020 EC NLAFET Project

part2

Bo Kagstrom, Umea University

9:30

XBLAS and More

Greg Henry, Intel

10:00

What's Going on in ATLAS

Clint Whaley, LSU

10:30

Batched Linear Algebra Operations: BLAS for Many Small Problems

David Keyes and Hatem Ltaief, KAUST

11:00

Break

Room 205

11:30

Vendor presentations



Intel

Shane Story, Intel


ARM (no slides provided)

Chris Goodyer, ARM

12:30

Lunch provided

Room 233

1:30

Vendor presentations continued



NAG

Mick Pont, NAG


MathWorks

Bobby Cheng, MathWorks


Nvidia

Sharan Chetlur, Nvidia


Cray (no slides provided)

Aaron Collier, Cray

 

 

 

 

 

 

4:00

Wrap up

Jack Dongarra

 


 

 

 

Its about 25 minutes from the Hotel to the meeting site and about 25 minutes from the meeting site to the Square Room.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Draft Reports:

You can find a draft copy of the Batched BLAS and Reproducible

 

Batched BLAS Draft Reports:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/olocmipyxfvcaui/batched_api_03_30_2016.pdf?dl=0

 

Batched BLAS Poster:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ddkym76fapddf5c/Batched%20BLAS%20Poster%2012.pdf?dl=0

 

Batched BLAS Slides:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kz4fhcipz3e56ju/BatchedBLAS-1.pptx?dl=0

 

Webpage on ReproBLAS:

http://bebop.cs.berkeley.edu/reproblas/

 

Efficient Reproducible Floating Point Summation and BLAS:

http://www.eecs.berkeley.edu/Pubs/TechRpts/2015/EECS-2015-229.pdf

 

 

If you have any questions please let me know (dongarra@icl.utk.edu).

 


 

Attendees:

Ahmad

Ahmad

UTK

aahmad2@icl.utk.edu

Hartwig

Anzt

UTK

hanzt@icl.utk.edu

Konstant

Arturov

Intel

konstantin.i.arturov@intel.com

Mohsen

Aznaveh

TAMU

mahmoudi.mohsen@gmail.com

Bobby

Cheng

MathWorks

bobby.cheng@mathworks.com

Eugene

Chereshnev

Intel

eugene.chereshnev@intel.com

Sharan

Chetlur

Nvidia

schetlur@nvidia.com

Aaron

Collier

Cray

acollier@cray.com

Anthony

Danalis

UTK

adanalis@icl.utk.edu

Jim

Demmel

UC Berkeley

demmel@EECS.Berkeley.EDU

Jack

Dongarra

UTK

dongarra@icl.utk.edu

Iain

Duff

Rutherford

iain.duff@stfc.ac.uk

Mark

Gates

UTK

mgates3@utk.edu

Chris

Goodyer

ARM

Chris.Goodyer@arm.com

Laura

Grigori

INRIA

laura.grigori@inria.fr

Bill

Gropp

UIUC

wgropp@illinois.edu

Murat

Guney

Intel

murat.e.guney@intel.com

Azzam

Haidar

UTK

haidar@icl.utk.edu

Sven

Hammarling

Manchester

sven.hammarling@btinternet.com

Alex

Heinecke

Intel

alexander.heinecke@intel.com

Greg

Henry

Intel

greg.henry@intel.com

Mike

Heroux

SNL

maherou@sandia.gov

Jonathan

Hogg

Rutherford

jonathan.hogg@stfc.ac.uk

David

Hough

Oracle

david.hough@oracle.com

Bo

Kagstrom

Umea

bokg@cs.umu.se

David

Keyes

Kaust

david.keyes@kaust.edu.sa

Sarah

Knepper

Intel

sarah.knepper@intel.com

Alexander

Kobotov

Intel

alexander.v.kobotov@intel.com

Jakub

Kurzak

UTK

kurzak@icl.utk.edu

Mohamed Sid

Lakhdar

TAMU

wissam@tamu.edu

Pedro

Lara

Manchester

pedro.valero.lara@gmail.com

Hatem

Ltaief

Kaust

hatem.ltaief@kaust.edu.sa

Piotr

Luszczek

UTK

luszczek@icl.utk.edu

Terry

Moore

UTK

tmoore@icl.utk.edu

Mick

Pont

NAG

mick@nag.co.uk

Siva

Rajamanickam

SNL

srajama@sandia.gov

Jason

Riedy

GATech

jason.riedy@cc.gatech.edu

Jakub

Sistek

Manchester

jakub.sistek@manchester.ac.uk

Shane

Story

Intel

shane.story@intel.com

Stan

Tomov

UTK

tomov@icl.utk.edu

Eric

van Hensbergen

ARM

eric.vanhensbergen@arm.com

Clint

Whaley

LSU

rcwhaley@lsu.edu

Asim

YarKhan

UTK

yarkhan@icl.utk.edu

Mawussi

Zounon

Manchester

mawussi.zounon@gmail.com